Jefferson County Local Development Corporation Nominating Committee Meeting Minutes November 14, 2024

The Jefferson County Local Development Corporation held a nominating committee meeting on Thursday, November 14, 2024.

Present: Lisa L'Huillier (Chair), William Johnson

Absent: W. Edward Walldroff

Also Present: Marshall Weir, Peggy Sampson, Jay Matteson, Rob Aiken

I. Call to Order: Chairwoman L'Huillier called the meeting to order at 8:07 a.m.

II. Nominate Officers for 2025 CY – Chairwoman L'Huillier indicated that the purpose of the meeting is to nominate officers for the 2025 calendar year. She said that Dr. Gardner is interested in serving as the secretary. The committee is recommending the following slate of officers:

Chairman Robert E. Aliasso, Jr.
Vice Chairman W. Edward Walldroff
Treasurer Paul Warneck
Secretary Dr. Gregory Gardner

A motion was made by Ms. L'Huillier to recommend the slate of officers to the full board of directors, seconded by Mr. Johnson.

III. Other

1. Board vacancies – Chairwoman L'Huillier said there are two vacancies as of December 1st. Mr. Johnson said that he was contacted yesterday by Steven Winkler who is interested in serving on the board. Chairwoman L'Huillier said the committee has received several recommendations - Charles Capone from Watertown Savings Bank, Dawn Robinson from Jefferson Community College and an individual that has a current project with JCIDA. She said that she was waiting to hear from counsel if it would be a conflict. Mr. Weir said the individual has experience from serving on an IDA board in another county and would be a good candidate in the future. Mr. Weir said in his opinion, he would like to see female representation on the board plus have a connection with the College as well as have a banker for their expertise. Mr. Aiken said that Mr. Weir's opinion is important, and he agrees with the recommendations.

The committee will recommend Charles Capone and Dawn Robinson to the JCIDA Nominating Committee to fill the board terms for Christine Powers and Kent Burto.

IV. Adjournment: With no further business before the committee, a motion to adjourn the meeting was made by Ms. L'Huillier, seconded by Mr. Johnson. The meeting was adjourned at 8:17 a.m.

Respectfully submitted, Peggy Sampson